Tags

, , , ,

20121023-064749.jpg

I’m so excited that Tayari Jones is speaking this week in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Spartanburg (also know as Hub City and Sparkle City) is my hometown and she is speaking at an event at the library. I won’t be there, but so wish I could be there to hear her.

I spent many hours of my childhood reading at our public library (back when it was much smaller and on Pine Street, not in the fancy, fantastic space it is today). When I visit home I am so proud to see what a bookish town Spartanburg has become.

If you love wonderful stories and thoughtful, beautiful writing, please do go see Tayari Jones on Thursday in Spartanburg. (And yes, my friends in Greenville, Greer, Mauldin, etc. she is absolutely worth the drive to Spartanburg).

Tayari Jones books are:
Leaving Atlanta
The Untelling
Silver Sparrow

She is one of my favorite authors. And she writes about the South in ways we need to hear

