English: Chimamanda Adichie, Lagos 2009

Image via Wikipedia

I’m so excited that Chimamanda Adichie is reading as part of the annual Winter with the Writersat Rollins College.

We’re fortunate to have this literary series here in Central Florida. I’ve seen Nikki Giovanni and David Henry Hwang (actually had dinner with DHH!) in previous years at Winter with the Writers.

I’m reading The Thing Around Your Neck, her collection of stories, before the reading. (I may only finish a few stories before Thursday, but what I’ve read so far is marvelous.) And Half of a Yellow Sun is now on my to-be-read list.

Not sure if you want to go? Then listen/see Chimamanda Adichie’s TED Talk about The danger of a single story.

Details about the reading from the Winter with the Writers web site:

Free and open to the public, no tickets necessary. Parking is located in the SunTrust Plaza, off Park Avenue. Master Class begins at 4 p.m. in the Bush Auditorium (Moscaluic at 2 p.m. in the Woolson House). Readings take place at 7:30 p.m. in the Bush Auditorium.

