I spent the last 2 – 3 weeks reading The Right Mistake, by Walter Mosley. My husband brought me a copy from the library (which he visits now more than I do) because he knows how much I love Mosley’s stories. The Right Mistake, by Walter Mosley

When I began reading the Easy Rawlins mysteries, if I had one in my hands, it would be difficult to get me to leave my apartment and go out if I was reading about Easy, Mouse and the cast of characters Mosley created.

The Right Mistake features Socrates Fortlow, a murderer and ex-convict who is a street philosopher. If you haven’t read any of the Socrates Fortlow stories, start with Mosley’s Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned.

Mosley is one of America’s master storytellers and in The Right Mistake we see Socrates achieve so much and risk even more.

Yet it took me a long time to finish the book. Nearly 20 years ago when I began reading Mosley, I didn’t have all the distractions I have now. I had no cable television, no laptop, no Internet access, no children, no husband. So one of the reasons it takes me a long time to read is that I have carved up my time and distributed it far and wide.

Still, there are books I read these days that make me close the laptop, leave the television off for days and get the kids into bed on time, just so I can turn the page.

What’s changed is me. I’m somewhere different as a reader and other stories capture me today. I’m thinking about what happens to favorites and why they fade from favor.

Another factor in the fading is that when I began reading the Easy Rawlins stories, I was just starting to get into adult mysteries (I was an Encyclopedia Brown fan as a kid). So Easy was the detective I followed. Since then I’ve gotten caught up in the Spenser mysteries, Paula L. Woods’ Charlotte Justice novels, Pamela Graham’s books, and thrillers by Karin Slaughter, MJ Rose and more. My landscape of mysteries has expanded and I think that has a lot to do with it.

Still, I found a lot to challenge me in the latest Socrates Fortlow story. It just took me longer to explore it.

