Tags

,

September publication dates (tell me who I’ve missed in comments):

From Jesmyn Ward's blog

Salvage the Bones, by Jesmyn Ward (9/1) Twitter: @jesmimi

A novel about a Southern family in the days before a hurricane. The description has my attention and I’m looking forward to reading this one. Side note: I wonder if anyone teaches a class that looks at novels with hurricanes as central events/characters. Would love to see that reading list. I assume Their Eyes Were Watching God and The Hand I Fan With would be on that list. What else?

My Soul to Take, by Tananarive Due (9/6) Twitter: @TananariveDue

I can’t wait to read this one. Debating whether to save it for a plane ride or just stay up late for a few nights in September reading this.

- From Yale Press site

Sister Citizen: Shame, Stereotypes and Black Women in America, by Melissa V. Harris-Perry (9/20) Twitter: @MHarrisPerry

I don’t read a lot of non-fiction. This is one of the few non-fiction books I’m adding to my to be read list. What a time to have a book about Black women, shame and stereotypes. The sub-sub title is “For Colored Girls Who’ve Considered Politics When Being Strong Isn’t Enough.”

Who’s Afraid of Post-Blackness, by Toure (9/13) Twitter: @Toure

Yes. I plan to pick this one up. Another rare non-fiction addition to my list. I’ll be interested to see what kinds of dialogue and criticism are sparked by this book, since people (including me) have very strong reactions to Toure’s work.

