Tonight I went through a few of my books and, reluctantly, chose a few to give away.

In my dream house there is a library or study with built in shelves enough to hold all the books I can imagine buying and reading. I’m still not in that house yet, so I have to pull books out of the collection.

There are certain books which are forever protected – all titles by Octavia Butler, Toni Morrison, Pearl Cleage and Anne Lamott’s essays. And I have multiple copies of some of my most cherished books, but I can’t get rid of one. Struggling right now thinking about my two copies of Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones.

So for no other reason than to say good bye and record that I once owned these books, here is a list of the titles that will be donated tomorrow.

  • The Shipping News, by E. Annie Proulx – grad school read, wonderful
  • A Passage to India, by E.M. Forster
  • Birth of a Nation ‘hood: Gaze, Script and Spectacle in the O.J. Simpson Case, edited by Toni Morrison and Claudia Brodsky Lacour
  • Areopatitica, by John Milton – obviously a grad school text of mine
  • Oroonoko, by Aphra Behn
  • Absalom, Absalom, by William Faulkner
  • The Kingdom of this World, by Alejo Carpentier
  • Saints in Limbo, by River Jordan

How do you decide which books to keep forever and which ones have to find a new home?

