Our next #blacklitchat is Sunday, July 24 and it’s going to be fun. We’ll talk about our favorite summer beach reads with my regular co-moderator, @deegospel, who also is the author of A Good Excuse to Be Bad.

To get ready for the chat I’m making a list of some of my favorite and fun reads from this year.

These are the books on my recommendation list:

Just Wanna Testify by Pearl Cleage

Platinum by Aliya S. King

The VIPs, by Scott Poulson-Bryant (which is on my to-be-read list)

Money Can’t Buy Love, by Connie Briscoe (also on my to-be-read list)

32 Candles, by Ernessa T. Carter

For me a summer beach read is a novel that is a page turner with characters to love and a plot that has some drama in it. Even better if there’s a sprinkling of pop culture. And mysteries are always among my favorites (like A Good Excuse to Be Bad).

What are some of our favorite reads this summer? Tell us what’s in your beach bag in the comments. And join us for the chat on Sunday – we’ll have books to give away.

 

